Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 01-26-2013, 11:41 AM   #1  
Warrior Princess

Question Runners (shin splints?)

I'm a noob to jogging but I started back in the fall and without fail I get achy shins which recover after about a day or two, but I also experience (which is the worst!) bad sore spots on the inside of my lower legs, near the bone about 4 inches above the ankle. If I press on it, it feels like a nasty bruise but there's no visible bruise. Shin splints? They normally calm down within a day or two but I would like to be able to run more than one day in a row. What can I do, or what am I doing wrong? I aim to run about 20 miles a week...or at least try to but my legs get too pissy. I have better luck with the treadmill, when I run outside on concrete my legs are over with. I don't know if it matters but I'm 38.

Ice after? Insoles for better shock absorbency? Wrap my legs with tape like a horse? I want to be a more consistent runner.

I'm posting a pic of the actual shoes I wear which are Skechers (they're only a few months old, indoor use only) but are for running. Please don't tell me I'll have to spend $200 on a new pair of Nike's.

All input in this department much appreciated.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg skech475004_162455_fs.jpg (3.7 KB, 2 views)

Last edited by novangel; 01-26-2013 at 11:46 AM.
novangel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 12:21 PM   #2  
Heading Downtown...

S/C/G: 225/165/165

Height: 5'8"

It could just be a simple over use issue in which case it will just take time to build up to the level that you want to run at... but it could also be a shoe issue or biomechanical, or even a combination of these...