Old 08-04-2012, 06:57 AM   #1  
emaline29

S/C/G: 226/202/154

Height: 4'11"

Talking Keeping going at 81

Just read a thread that I found was closed so I thought I would start a new one on the subject of being aged and studying..or anything else for that matter! ..
I was out of work when I was in my 50's and was soo fedup with being asked what school qualifications I had and then explaining that they didn't do GCSEs or O Levels in my day (English schools types of exams) So I decided to do something about it and did my English and Maths GCSEs and a Bookkeeping and Accounts O Level exam. which helped me in getting another job at that time.
Now as a retired pensioner I am studying Law and hope to eventually get a degree. It's pretty hard going but then that's how these things are, is it not? ...

Last edited by emaline29; 06-14-2015 at 01:12 PM. Reason: need new title
emaline29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 09:15 AM   #2  
GmaTo8

Emaline - you are so right that it's never too late to improve ourselves! That's why we have an Age 50+ section here at 3FC. Good health, especially, is an important ingredient in the recipe for being the best we can be as we age. Good luck with your law degree.
Jane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 04:02 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 165/132/125 or 115? not sure

Height: 5'4" (on a good-hair day!)

Quote:
ust read a thread that I found was closed so I thought I would start a new one on the subject of being aged and studying..or anything else for that matter! ..
I was out of work when I was in my 50's and was soo fedup with being asked what school qualifications I had and then explaining that they didn't do GCSEs or O Levels in my day (English schools types of exams) So I decided to do something about it and did my English and Maths GCSEs and a Bookkeeping and Accounts O Level exam. which helped me in getting another job at that time.