Depression and Weight Issues Have you been diagnosed with depression, are possibly on depression medication, and find it affects your weight loss efforts? Post here for support!

Closed Thread

Old 09-05-2003, 06:44 PM   #1  

Default Introducing myself and a ?

Hi! My name is Carole and I'm fairly new to the 3FC boards, but certainly not new to either depression or weight loss efforts. I live in (not so) Sunny Florida. I am 34 years-old, married for nearly 9 years to the most wonderful man and we have a 7 year-old daughter. I am a stay-at-home mom and we homeschool.

I've suffered from depression since I was in my late teens, but it wasn't until my early 30's that I started to so something about it.

I just hit rock bottom as far as my weight goes. I stepped on the scale yesterday and it read 300.0 pounds.

I have decided to start taking Tae Kwon Do, after my daughter's TKD school's owner and a good friend of mine has been pursuing me relentlessly for months. I even found a place on-line that sells gis (martial arts uniforms) in really large sizes.

I've noticed though that even with my Zoloft motivation is hard to come by.

I was wondering if anyone else who suffers from depression finds that plateaus and days where you don't eat as well as you ought are tiggers for depression which saps your remaining desire to get back on track?

I find myself getting much more discouraged than others I know who are trying to lose weight and I just sort of wonder if it may be related to my depression or if I'm just that lazy.
Old 09-05-2003, 09:42 PM   #2  
Moderator & Happy Chick

Height: 5' 10"

Hi Carole and welcome to the boards !!!!