Dieting with Obstacles Those with special health concerns such as diabetes, fibromyalgia, pregnancy, etc can post here for extra support and help.

Old 03-26-2012, 03:07 PM   #1  
193.6 lbs

S/C/G: starting: 194/169/ 139

Height: 5ft 4 in

Default Lots of obstacles and need some inspiration

Hi Ladies,

I'd like to introduce myself here. I'm a grad student with 9 month old twins. I gained about 70-80lbs during my pregnancy. I started out at around 155 lbs(which was already about 15 lbs more than my ideal weight). I ate too much and barely moved. It was a hard pregnancy with the heavy belly. My twins were 6.5lbs each, so you can imagine how big my stomach was. Well, I only lost about 35-40 lbs of the (80), and now I am 193 lbs. Ideally I would like to get to the 150lbs, but my ultimate goal would be 145.

I was diagnosed with hypothyroidism, and have just started taking synthroid. I hope it helps. I am now feeling pain in my knees from the weight I carry around. The gym is about 20min drive away. I don't like going after work because I lack the energy to put in any effort to my workout. I could take the kiddies to daycare earlier and go before work, but I don't. I want to lose weight, but have yet to find that drive in me. I don't know why I can't put down food, or make the decision and effort to go to the gym. I'm not depressed, and I'm quite happy with my life, so I don't know what's the deal. It's almost like I don't care...yet I know I look pretty terrible at this weight, and it really hits me when I see photos of myself or try on clothes. I used to look pretty good, now I look awful. I wear a size 14-16, because much of the weight is in my stomach, which has nearly no muscle tone.

I guess i need inspiration to get up and move. Maybe some encouraging words? I'd like to have a support system. Also, when I do go to the gym...for some reason I can't put in 100% effort. It's like when it gets tough, my body shuts down and doesn't want to continue with the workout