Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 03-23-2012, 05:12 PM   #1  
Melissa

Height: 5'6.5"

Default Walking is excellent exercise, so why don't more of us do it?

Some of the life long fittest people I've known were lifetime walkers. It's easy on your joints, you can increase speed and distance to increase the calorie burn, so why does everyone try to stop walking to start running?

Higher calorie burn? Get it over with faster? Harder means better? I really don't get it. If we all would get off our butts and walk every day - like briskly walk, we wouldn't have the obesity problem we have. We could avoid a lot of injuries too if we stuck to walking instead of running.

I've been working out for 15 months. I can now do power step aerobics for an hour - all the jumps - yep. I lift weights in bodypump and after 9 months, I have the most weight on the bar for most muscle groups, BUT... I can also still walk fast enough to get my heart racing for a good workout too.

Do people think it's wimping out or something to count walking as exercise? Just walk faster and longer! I guarantee your legs will get twitching and you'll get a good workout!

Think I might blog about this tomorrow.
berryblondeboys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 05:18 PM   #2  
Porthardygurl

S/C/G: 315/see ticker/180

Height: 6ft

I personally find it hard to walk...i find that my legs ache after and im breathless and well i know im out of shape.. I guess i rather run and put myself through torture for 20 minutes as opposed to doing it for 60 minutes through fast paced walking..
Porthardygurl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 05:32 PM   #3  

Because it would take a reeeeaaaally long time to complete a marathon?
4myloves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 05:36 PM   #4  

S/C/G: 158/158/125

Height: 5'4