Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 02-05-2012, 12:21 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 230/see ticker/130

Height: 5'1"

Default Will I ever be able to accept that I might be losing weight

I'm definitely a glass half empty type of a person. I've just always been this way. I always focus on the negatives and not the positives. And I've started seeing a therapist who has pointed these things out to me. She's trying to get me to appreciate the little victories, but I struggle with that.

So I've been working with a trainer and nutritionist for the past 3 months, but I've only really taken it seriously starting late December. And I haven't seen too many changes on the scale. Over the course of 3 months I'm almost down about 10 pounds. And I'm so eager to get past the 10 pound mark, but I'm not there yet. However, people have been making a few comments to me. Good comments noticing differences, and for some reason I think that they're making it up to be nice. My neighbor said she noticed that I was looking a little smaller, and I thought, it must just be the shirt that I'm wearing that makes me look smaller. My trainer mentioned to me today that my workout pants are too big and that I should get a smaller size. She was really excited about it. But I just thought, oh they must have just stretched out.

Do/Did you ever have an issue accepting that you might be losing weight? I've weighed this much for so long that it seems impossible to me that I could lose weight. And I think I'm so obsessed with the numbers on the scale that I'm blocking out the other victories that I should be celebrating. I think it's partially because I don't feel any different. Or I don't feel like things are fitting looser. And maybe if I can lose more then I'll feel different. But I'm wondering if I'll find more excuses to not accept that all of my hard work might actually be paying off.

How can I feel good about the small changes that are happening and stop focusing on the long term goal?