Weight and Resistance Training Boost weight loss, and look great!

Old 01-23-2012, 11:49 PM   #1  
Katrina

S/C/G: 162/see ticker/130

Height: 5'6

Default Less reps more weight or more reps less weight?

Hey everyone! I'm starting to add strength training to my workout but I'm not sure about one thing. Am I supposed to do more reps with less weight or less reps with more weight? My goal is to tone more (I still have fat to lose though). Also, please provide how many reps I should be doing with your answer since I really have no idea.

Thanks guys!
Candeka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 12:48 AM   #2  

S/C/G: 134/126/under 124

Height: 5'2.5

HEAVY weight, fewer reps!

I am not an expert, but I do know that doing more than 3 sets of 15 reps is a total waste of time. Very, very generic recommendations: beginners usually do 2 sets of 15 reps, as you get into a routine aim for 3 sets of 8-10 reps. The weights should be sufficiently heavy that the last few reps of each set are difficult to complete.

Your goal (whether it is building muscle or losing fat) impacts more your diet rather than your lifting. Eating above maintenance will help build muscle, below maintenance will help lose fat. Either way you want to lift HEAVY. Lifting heavy in a caloric deficit will help maintain and tone muscle during weight loss. Lifting lighter for more reps will do nothing!
indiblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 01:10 AM   #3  

S/C/G: 150/120/110

If you want to gain more muscle, then you have to work the muscles harder, which means lifting heavier weights. As you know, the more muscle you have, the more calories you will burn.

On the flip side, as ultimately, weight loss is connected to calorie burn v. intake, nearly any type of exercise will make you lose weight if you do it long enough to burn the right amount of calories.