Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 01-12-2012, 02:35 PM   #1  
Suck it up, buttercup!

S/C/G: 237/165/165

Height: 5'8"

Default Capoeira

Not sure how many have heard of this, so here is a link to Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capoeria and here is a link to a video on youtube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z8zNigU0ChU

I really wanted to do that for the longest time but as you can see those guys are incredibly fit and it is not exactly a sport for overweight and unfit people. Well, and that is what I used to be my whole life.

Now, they are offering classes where I live for total beginners (keep your fingers crossed!) and I am at (well, close) to my goal weight, so I signed up!

The first class is on Saturday and I am a little nervous.

I will check back on Monday or so and let you know how it went. Well, if I survive it, that is.

Anyways, I figured I start a thread and see if somebody else is crazy enough to try out Capoeira. :-) Anybody doing it or used to do it?
josey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 02:43 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 180/150/130

I've never heard of it! But, after checking out the links your provided it looks really awesome!

I wish I was as brave as you! I'm totally intimidated by the gym and all the really fit people who go! I'm always self-conscious that I wont be able to perform to the same ability as the others even if it is a beginners class or whatever!! I'm working on this and contemplating signing up for a beginner yoga class to get me over my fear!!

Hope you have fun!! Looks like it'll be a blast!
JennaR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 03:11 AM   #3  

S/C/G: 93/78/65 kg

Height: 172 cm

Good luck .... I have heard of it and know some very fit looking celebrity bodies do it .... go for it .... let us know how you get on ...
HMM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 10:25 PM   #4