Old 09-27-2010, 07:37 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 234/162/145

Height: 5 ft 4

Unhappy I am an overeater - how do I fix it?

Hi everybody,

This is my first time on 3FC. I found this forum while Googling overeating and figured it was a good place to start.

I realised only recently that I am an overeater. If I compare my relationship to food with that of other people it seems to me that I am not normal. I'm here because I want to know how to become normal. I feel like I am tormented by food and that nobody else around me understands what that's like.

I am not overweight right now (although I have been seriously overweight in the past) and in theory I know exactly what to do to live a healthy lifestyle. My problem is that every now and again I will go on a feeding frenzy and eat until I am sick.

Then I feel incredibly guilty about it for days afterward, become very depressed and generally not a pleasure to be around at all because I'm grumpy and pick fights (just ask my husband). If I know there is food in the cupboard, I will obsess about it until either it gets eaten by someone else, or I eat it. It's almost like being tortured until the food has been removed as a temptation. My husband doesn't get this at all because he can leave a bar of chocolate in the cupboard for a week because he's "saving it" for the weekend (a concept I simply can't grasp) or because he's forgotten about it (I have never forgotten about any food anywhere EVER). He has to hide food from me if he wants it to still be around by the time he's ready to eat it. That's not normal! and he shouldn't have to live that way.

Why am I like this? Is it physiological? Is it psychological? Is it inherited? I can go for weeks being angelic and feeling on top of the world about my level of discipline with regards to food and then all of a sudden, seemingly without warning, I'll just crash and burn and stuff my face like there's no tomorrow.