Old 12-25-2010, 05:20 PM   #1  
Living and Learning

S/C/G: 304/see ticker/140

Height: 5' 3"

Default Some advice on starting shift work and healthy eating

Okay my fellow chickies....I need some advice.

In mid January, I will be starting a new shift at work. 11pm - 9am four nights a week. Gasp, sigh. Blerch. I will have to sleep during the day while the kids are at school. I am not impressed but it is what it is.
I have never worked shifts like this before. How do I eat? Breakfast, lunch and dinner? My whole life will be backwards!
I work in a group home so I will have access to a kitchen to prepare anything I bring in.
Do any of you have advice for me? Personal experience you can share?
gumboot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2010, 05:23 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 242/ticker/140

Height: 5'7

When you learn, let me know! I work 12 hour night shifts 3 nights a week and I'm having a hard time counting calories for a whole 24 hour awake period during that time. O_O
The Last Noel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2010, 10:01 AM   #3  

S/C/G: 298/238...285.5/217/150

Height: 5'5"

My sympathies but you could end up liking it! When I worked an overnight shift I didn't know it would only last 4 months so I tried to embrace it. I like breakfast foods for dinner and dinner foods for breakfast. I had dinner when I got up and had lunch at work and breakfast when I got home again. This may also help things seem normal for the kids, too. Also, I needed some refreshing snacks so I chose cold items like fruit and yogurt

The hardest part is changing your sleep cycle so you might want to get some melatonin and valerian root (safe herbal supplements) to help you sleep when your new schedule needs you to sleep.

On a side note, thank you for taking care of folks that have a hard time taking care of themselves. Its a difficult job but rewarding too.
DixC Chix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2010, 11:16 AM   #4  
Living and Learning