View Single Post
Old 11-16-2010, 11:02 PM   #8
Marionm
Started IP 7/7/2010

S/C/G: 301/215 Restart 245/249/185

Height: 5'9"

I really needed this threadÖ just to read your stories. They inspire me and touch my heart.

Iím Marion. Iím 44 years old and Iíve been married 26 years. We have 3 daughters that are 20, 17 and 13 years old. I have been dancing since I was 12 years old in one style or another and thatís how I met my husband.
Iíve struggled with weight since I was in 5th grade--- or at least my view of my weight. By the time I was in high school, I was buying into weight tables that said I was fat even though I was dancing at aerobic levels for 4 hours a night 6-7 nights a week. When I had a body fat test done sometime between when I was 18-20, I was 20% body fat, but because I weighed 185 pounds, I believed I was fat.

I had a pretty serious ankle injury that stopped me from dancing and resulted in surgery number one and some weight gain which kind of just got out of control. After several attempts at various diets including the infamous Phen/Phan pills, I yo-yoíd all over the place. Coupled with having PCOS which has led me to several miscarriages and hormones that just are uncooperative my metabolism was rolling downhill. Iíve had two more ankle reconstructions since then as well.

Perhaps the final straw for me occurred in 2003 when I was working with a doctor and finally making some progress. About 3 months into treatment, I found out I was pregnant (which had also happened the last time I had lost weight), but this time it was twins. A couple of months later, I began to spot and soon found out I was miscarrying. I worked as a wedding coordinator the day I lost my babies. I was pretty upset and took an unhealthy attitude that I just didnít care. Here I was getting healthy and I still lost my babies! More weight gain.