Old 10-12-2010, 12:10 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 232/see ticker/150

Height: 5'6"

Default Vietnamese food and sugar substitute?

Hi All,

I'm just starting out and am trying to cut out as much sugar as possible from my diet. But I cook Vietnamese food at least three times a week and a degree of sweetness is required in many dishes. Has anyone tried using sugar substitute in Vietnamese food? What has worked best? Can you get away with a sugar substitute in nuoc cham?

Thanks!
Jezlyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 04:03 PM   #2  

Personally I find that the small amount of sugar used in this overall low fat and healthy cuisine does not require subbing. I do use honey in nuoc cham because I like the taste - but that does not lower calories. In quick pickles like cucumber, carrot, and daikon, I have subbed Splenda and find it to be ok - I think because the vinegar is strong enough to mask any off flavor of the artificial sweetener. I find nuoc cham to be more subtle (yes despite the fish sauce) and have never tried Splenda there.

Last edited by tommy; 10-12-2010 at 04:04 PM.
tommy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 05:11 PM   #3  

S/C/G: SW:394/310/180

I usually don't have "real" sweeteners in the house at all (hubby keeps a small teddy bear of honey, but I'm allergic to most honeys -which means I'm probalby allergic to a specific, but common pollen).

We keep Equal and Sweet n Low (or their generic equivalents) in the house for hubby, but I usually use Splenda as my main sweetener in recipes calling for sugar, including nuoc cham. I didn't know the name "nuoc cham," but when I looked it up, I realized I make this all of the time (I use it as a dipping sauce, a salad dressing, a meat or vegetable marinade... Heck, I could almost drink the stuff).

Here's my recipe (though I never really measure).

3 tablespoons lime juice or rice wine vinegar (or combination of the two)

3 to 5 tablespoons fish sauce (depending on the strength of the fish sauce)