Old 08-14-2010, 07:29 AM   #1  

Post Hi

i am a 40 yr old mother of 3. ive decided to try to get back in shape, actually ive been trying for about 6 mos, but keep getting side tracked. now, i believe im ready. i have a very supportive husband and family. but w/the holidays coming up, im worried. but i know i can get thru it. ive done lo carb in the past w/great results.........but it didnt last. i found all id lost m and then some. but this time i want to make it work, and keep it off. not sure what is the best plan to follow tho.......lo carb or lo fat......so im hoping yall can help. i look forward to meeting a lot of great friends on here. have a great day,
thanks
Laura
missbutterfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2010, 02:50 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 185 / 165 / 135

Height: 5' 4"

hey there...
this is my first time posting in the 40-something forum. i will be 40 in november, so i thought i'd get a head start! I also have 3 kids and a great husband, so i understand many of the challenges and positives of trying to lose weight with 4 other people in the house who really aren't.

I've crafted a goal which everyone in my house has kinda bought into...it's my "50 by 40 goal". Basically...i'm gonna try to drop 50 pounds by the time I turn 40. The worst part about the goal was admitting to my family that I needed to lose 50 lbs. Humbling! But, everybody's onboard and very encouraging.

I'm doing the Metabolic Research Diet plan...it's no magic bullet though. It's basically low-carb/high protein plan which emphasizes proper portion sizes. I also try to get in about 2hours of exercise a week. So far i'm progressing pretty well as far as i'm concerned. Ups and downs...yes, but overall, i'm happy with it.

Good luck to you and your journey!!
jetperson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2010, 12:46 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 232.6/232.0/165

Height: 5'6"

Hi!

I'm also new here.