Old 05-24-2010, 09:28 AM   #1  

S/C/G: high285/resrart276/ticker/140

Height: 5'3"

Default Am I a whimp?

Ok, so I got an elliptical over the weekend (yardsale score!!). I have never used one before, but figured how hard could it be.. and have heard it's a good workout. Well, I can barely make it for 4-5 minutes on it... and that's with pausing a few times in that time period! Is that normal for someone just starting out on it?

(by the way, while trying to push myself to go beyond 5 minutes this morning, I pulled a muscle in my leg... ouch!! May be a few days before I get on it again I'm afraid.. or do much for that matter, walking alone is hurting pretty bad right now )

ETA.. another question.. how do you log the use of an elliptical in fitday???

Last edited by findingfawn; 05-24-2010 at 09:34 AM.
findingfawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 10:02 AM   #2  

S/C/G: 288/seeticker/140

Height: 5'4"

sorry you have an ouchie!
is it a manual or an electric? is it hydrolic?

Elips were my favorite machines at the gym, so I bought one to use at home a few years ago. Turns out the ones at the gym and the ones most of us buy... totally different. The "home" ones are either manual or electrical, but the electrical generally only operates the screen display.
The electrical ones at the gym have hydrolic parts, that make them soooo much easier to glide along in. So the manuals will be burning more calories but they are HARD to use.

So when I got mine home I couldn't do it for more than 5 min. I worked at adding a minute every 3 days. I never got higher than 15 minutes. To be honest I dreaded stepping on the thing and I don't stick with dreaded workouts. I give you for making it as long as you did!!
TaraLee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2010, 10:04 AM   #3  

S/C/G: 297/198/190

Height: 5'8"

good for you for finding an elliptical at a yard sale! That's awesome!

Regarding wimpishness...