General chatter Because life isn't just about dieting. Play games, jokes, or share what's new in your life!

Old 05-02-2010, 04:06 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 183/170/128

Height: 5'5

Default My name is Katy, and I'm a smoker

Hey Chicks!

I have been smoking for 4 years now. I am really in the mind set to quit, but there is only one problem... I have worked so hard to lose the weight I have, and cigarettes have been my crutch throughout the process.

Money, sadly, is the number one reason why I want to quit so badly. I know, I know, health should be my number one priority, but I'm only 20 and feel that what I do in college will somewhat erase itself??? (haha, I'm obviously justifying my actions.)

If you could ladies, please don't preach about my smoking. I am very aware that it is bad for me, and I am very sensitive and someone calling me "stupid" or "irresponsible" for starting will only hurt my feelings.

Has anyone maintained or even lost while trying to quit? I would love to hear some success stories that make me not as nervous to throw this pack of cigarettes away.

Thanks Ladies! I knew I could find answers here. I've seen tons of amazing women who have stopped the habit, and in order to be fully healthy, I know I need to too.
katybug12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 04:44 PM   #2  
hunt and gatherer

S/C/G: 368/300/198

Height: 6'2"

Hi Katybug,

Cute name. That's what we call my kid's best friend Katie.

Ah, this is a tough one. I was 290 pounds when I quit smoking 5 years ago. I am now over 360 and coming here for help. I know that isn't what you wanted to hear but anecdotal observations don't mean anything anyway. My dad quit smoking at 240 pounds and struggled for several months with diet before taking charge and spending the rest of his life at 190 pounds. You can do both, but it will take will power, support, and maybe even other types of help. He says it took him a year to get his eating in order after quiting the cigs.