General chatter Because life isn't just about dieting. Play games, jokes, or share what's new in your life!

Old 03-06-2010, 04:10 PM   #1  
Wandervogel

S/C/G: 241/214.5/150

Height: 5'4

Question My stomach is really, REALLY big!

Hey guys... I've been losing weight for about two months now and feel really great about the whole thing.

However, my body type is just plain awkward. Most of my fat is concentrated in my gigantic belly and upper thighs. I have a gigantic muffintop that I am, for the first time in my whole life, able to stuff into a pair of jeans instead of letting them ride below it. While I can see the weight loss, it just doesn't help that no matter what I wear, my stomach remains ridiculously disproportionate, to the effect that I get tons of "when is it due?" comments, even from my own mother (!)

Does anyone else have this problem? I know sit-ups won't help because you can't see the muscle through the fat. Is there any one thing that can help target it, or will it fix itself eventually?? I don't think I was always like this!
Raichu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 04:46 PM   #2  
GlenwoodHotSprings

S/C/G: 275/179/179

Height: 5'5"

Hi Raichu

I, too, carry most of my weight in my belly. Good for you, that in 2 months you are able to fit "it" into your jeans better for the first time in your whole life.

You are on the right track, however, there are specific exercises and foods which may help. I like this article from Mayo Clinic, which gives some insight; http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/bel...SECTIONGROUP=2

I have lost many inches around my waist (I wish I had kept track). The frustration is that although my waist is much smaller, because the rest of me has also gotten smaller, I'm still apple shaped...and I know for me, the belly will be the absolute last to go...so I've accepted that.