Depression and Weight Issues Have you been diagnosed with depression, are possibly on depression medication, and find it affects your weight loss efforts? Post here for support!

Old 01-09-2010, 09:24 PM   #1  

Default depression and anxiety..sorry its kinda long

I was just wondering if you have depression and/or anxiety how has it affected you weight wise? I was diagnosed with severe anxiety when i was a freshman in high school (about 6 years ago). I was always on the thinner side. A year latter i was diagnosed with depression. At first i wasnt put on any meds but i did slowly begin to gain weight. My senior year of high school my anxiety and depression had became so bad that i wouldnt go to school and was eventually put on home schooling. At that point i was put on prozac and klonopin. I was only on that for about 4 or 5 months. The prozac didnt help and made things a lot worse and ended in a very bad decission on my part (ill spare the details since their not that important to the topic.). I was then put on celexa. That was 3 years ago. Since then they have added klonopin (was taken off of it for a year then put back on it) wellbutrin, and seroquel. I have been having more and more trouble with my weight since all this begin. I have never known if it was the medicine or myself that was effecting my weight. Over the years iv blamed almost everything for my weight troubles (myself, family, friends, school, stress, etc.) but have never talked to anyone about it. i was always the friend that laughed and joked about everything including my weight and apparence, mainly in an attempt to keep everyone from worrying. But after years of doing this im finally realizing that i was making jokes about myself so that i didnt have to deal with the way i feel about myself. Has anyone else done this or dealt with this ?
alliexmariexrach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 09:17 AM   #2  

S/C/G: 180/140/120

Height: 5'2"