Old 01-05-2010, 10:22 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 297/257/184

Height: 6'0"

Default First day at the gym...

Hello everyone! I am brand new to this and am so excited about the support! Today is my first day going back to the gym...except for this time I am probably about 60 pounds heavier than when I last went. I woke up feeling so anxious about being the "fat girl" in muscle city. I was just wondering if anyone else has experienced this feeling and if so, how you were able to rise above. I'm afraid I'm going to go and be so uncomfortable that I won't go back. Help!
brandijune44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 10:28 AM   #2  
Caroline

Height: 5'0"

I think (hope) you will find that everyone at the gym is so into what they are doing, that they won't pay a bit of attention to you. When I was much heavier and working out at a gym, I always felt conspicuous, but the few times anyone ever bothered to notice me, it was to be perfectly friendly. I think people who are at the gym, for the most part, are going to be impressed that you're taking your health in hand. That's why they're there as well, after all.

Of course, this time of year not everyone at the gym is committed. Luckily those people will be gone in a month or so, and you'll have less of a wait for the good equipment!

Having said all that, I had a panic attack at the gym once. It was awful, but I don't even think anyone around me noticed. They were all focused on their own workouts and not worrying about what I was doing, thankfully.
thistoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 10:38 AM   #3  

S/C/G: 219/172/160

Height: 5' 4"

Good for you! Pat yourself on the back for the courage to go to the gym. I understand how you are feeling. When I finally went back to to gym I chose Curves as it is all women, no mirrors. I found it to be a very supportive place and have made many friends there.