Weight Loss Surgery If you've had it, or are considering it, share your discussions here

Old 12-30-2009, 06:09 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 350/332/200

Height: 5'7

Default How did you decide that surgery was right for you?

I've been considering WLS for a couple of years now. I believe I'm a good candidate - I weigh nearly 350 lbs and have high blood pressure (age 33). Diet after diet have failed. The only time I've been "thin" was a three year period where I ate 500 or less calories a day. Other than that, I've been obese my entire teen and adult life.

I'm planning to embark on yet another diet this spring (after my second child is born! I'm 24 weeks pregnant right now!). If this effort fails, I really think I need to get serious about surgery.

Things that are holding me back... fear of surgery complications, fear that it won't work, fear that I'll regain the weight. Also, my husband isn't too keen on the idea. He says I should be able to just force myself to eat less and therefore have the effects of surgery without the surgery. But I've gone on super low calorie diets before... it doesn't always translate to weight loss for me. I think I've seriously screwed up my metabolism over the years.

How did you come to the confident conclusion that surgery was right for you? I guess I am asking because I wonder if I will ever be confident this is the best solution. Did anyone go into the surgery with doubts? Or did you wait until you were totally 110% sure this was the right thing to do? I know surgery is a major decision and requires an entire lifestyle change, so I don't mean doubts about being ready and willing to do that. I mean doubts about if surgery is the right way to do it. (Er... did that make sense? )

(PS- Hope it's ok for me to post here. I haven't even consulted with a surgeon... just discussions with my family doctor.)

Thanks for sharing and helping me understand the mental process of deciding on and preparing for surgery.
Mama is offline   Reply With Quote