Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 10-12-2009, 08:04 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 178/see ticker/113

Height: 5'3

Question only using a stationary bike???

So I'm finally ready to accept that losing weight is going to take more than just eating right... I've been in denial I guess. I've been dieting now for over 11 years and I'm so tired. Just plain tired. I must say I HATE exercise, I've tried any and every form of it looking for something I enjoy but I just don't. So I've been trying to lose weight with diet alone and sure I lose some but then one bad weekend sets me back weeks.. it's frustrating. So after much depression and soul searching I know I have to include exercise and make it a lifestyle change along with eating better. So I was burnt out on my treadmill so I bought a stationary bike thinking I'd enjoy the change of exercise. I guess my question is, is a stationary bike enough to help with the weightloss? I did an 55 min on it today and I actually enjoyed it, watched tv while peddling away and the time flew by, it was easier than the treadmill for sure and I burned more calories in half the time! that was amazing. So does anyone here just use their stationary bike for exercise and have sucessful weight loss with it?
spryng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 09:42 PM   #2  
The spangled kind

S/C/G: 225/135/135

Height: 5'4"

I lost all of my weight using only a stationary bike (mine is a recumbent bike) probably 3-4 times a week. I was almost completely sedentary before I started using the bike, so that relatively little bit of exercise was a whole lot more than I had been getting. I joined the Y about six months ago, and I now exercise much more. But the bike was the only exercise I did while losing. For whatever reason, I tended not to ride as long when I watched TV. But if I had a good book, I would ride much longer, without ever stopping to check the clock.
Cotinga is offline   Reply With Quote