Dieting with Obstacles Those with special health concerns such as diabetes, fibromyalgia, pregnancy, etc can post here for extra support and help.

Old 07-31-2009, 01:31 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 160/160/130

Height: 5'4"

Default Hypothyroid issues

Hi everyone, I'm new to 3 Fat Chicks and I am hoping for some support. I have been diagnosed with hypothyroidism for years now and have almost given up on trying to lose weight. I've had so many doctors switching my dosages until recently they almost overdosed me. You would think that would make me lose weight, but of course it did the opposite. Now I have been put on a new dose and hopefully it's the proper one, so I'm ready to try again. I've lost the battle of the bulge so many times I'm afraid to even start again. I've pretty much tried every diet out there, WW, Atkins, South Beach, Nutrisystem and nothing seems to work. I'm hoping there are other hypothyroid gals out there who can help me get started and give me hope that I can lose weight even with this condition.
matildah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 01:54 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 248.8/232.2/135

Height: 5'8"

Hi, Matildah:

Welcome aboard. I am also fairly new to 3FC. Like you, I have also been diagnosed as hypothyroid. It is an obstacle to weight loss, for sure, but hopefully now that you have a new dose of meds, you will be stabilized a bit. You can lose weight even if you are hypothroid; it just may take a little longer than if you didn't have the disease. I have seen diet plans for people that are hypothroid (there is an interesting book out that I recently saw at Barnes and Noble), but I am not currently following one of those plans myself.