General chatter Because life isn't just about dieting. Play games, jokes, or share what's new in your life!

Old 06-04-2009, 12:55 PM   #1  
Work in progress

S/C/G: 165/ticker/120???

Height: 5'2"

Default Interested in becoming a personal trainer

Hi guys,

Being unemployed has given me a lot of time to think about where my life is going and what I am good at, and what I want to do with my time. This weight loss journey has really helped me focus on myself and taking care of myself... and the effects have been absolutely liberating. I feel so in control, and so strong and so good about myself when I am taking care of my body.

I kinda got to thinking that this is a feeling I would like to share with others. I guess my question is, does anyone know what it takes to become a personal trainer? Is there a certification process? Would I need to go back to school? Right now I have a Bachelor's degree in business. Would I also need training on nutrition?

Any thoughts, information or references would be greatly appreciated!
LittleMoonRabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 01:01 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 217/179.6/140

Height: 5'4"

I am not unemployed (yet) thankfully! However, I too am really enjoying working out and thought this would be a good way to become my own boss. There are certification programs, etc. I would check with a reputable gym and see what their requirements are for a trainer and maybe even talk to a trainer if you know one. Also Google it, there is a lot of info out there. I also checked to see which certs Bob and Jillian have from Biggest Loser, this should get you started.

Good Luck! When I mentioned this, my entire family acted like I was nuts or something.......sigh...
melwolfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2009, 01:19 PM   #3  

Height: 4'11"

Search for "personal trainer outlook handbook" and click on the first link that comes up (since I can't post it yet)

It's from the Occupational Outlook Handbook