Food Talk And Fabulous Finds Recipes, Healthy Cooking, and General Food Topics

Old 06-02-2009, 11:58 AM   #1  
Finding my wings...

S/C/G: 256/see ticker/156

Height: 5'2 and a freakin' HALF!

Question Fish?

Anyone have any healthy (and easy... I'm a person with very very very little time) ways of cooking fish?? I'm new to the whole healthy cooking thing... help!
starfishkitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 12:02 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 180/ticker/115

When I cook fish, I loosely wrap the fillets in tin foil and then bake them in the oven at 400 degrees for 20 mins. This works especially well with tilapia, snapper, sole, cod, and other white fish. I've found that it doesn't work so well with salmon. I add all kinds of spices for flavor and sometimes I even add sliced lemon. If you experiment with different spices, I'm sure you'll discover a recipe that suits your taste buds.
abielle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 12:15 PM   #3  
Work in progress

S/C/G: 165/ticker/120???

Height: 5'2"

there are lots of yummy ways to cook fish that are healthy

My favorite is steamed salmon with bayleaf, lemon and garlic in the water. Try it brushed with a little brown mustard... total yumminess. I once had this mustard salmon over wilted garlic spinach at a restaurant- fabulous.

Really, just play around. Use fairly low fat ingredients and experiment. A lot of the spice bottles will say right on it if they are typically used on fish

There are lots of good healthy recipe sites out there: eatingwell.com, allrecipes.com (they have a healthy section) and even the Food Network's website has a bunch of healthy recipes. Fish is great because most varieties are mild, so you can dress it up in a million different ways, with all sorts of flavors.
LittleMoonRabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2009, 12:17 PM   #4  
Happy Plodder

S/C/G: 238/158.9/138