Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 01-27-2008, 05:41 PM   #1  
Wannabe Health Nut!

S/C/G: 228/ticker/128

Height: 5"4

Question Yoga, Pilates or Tai Chi - Do they cause weight-loss?

Do yoga, pilates or tai-chi cause weight loss and/or body sculpting?

I have been doing WW for the past 2 months, but I think my points allowance was maybe too much because I wasn't losing as quick as I'd like, or even sometimes at all.. I know WW works for MANY people, but I didn't find it to be my cup of tea. (I was expecting more interaction, I guess)

Anyhow, I made an executive decision to stop going to WW meetings while still using the materials (meetings just weren't worth it for me), counting calories and using the extra $14 for something physical.

I'm interested in starting either yoga, pilates or tai chi, but I don't know if they will have any effect on weight loss and/or body sculpting.. Also, I don't know how much I'd be able to do being at my height/weight. (5'4", 215.5lbs) I have a FAIRLY flat stomach and I CAN touch my toes, but I'm by no means flexible, and bending WILL get some 'flesh in the face'..

Any thoughts? Tips? You guys are always the best, so bring it on!
LittleMissMotivation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 06:26 PM   #2  

Height: 5'5"

I LOVE yoga, but I do it in conjunction with other forms of exercise. (Since your ticker is an exercise one, I imagine that's your plan as well?) It is good for many fitness goals, like strength training & toning, balance, and flexibility. Many of the poses were far more challenging than I anticipated in terms of the strength required. But it does not burn calories very quickly.