Whole Foods Lifestyle For discussion of whole foods and more natural diets.

Old 06-17-2008, 05:53 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 192/190/145

Height: 5'7"

Default Canning

Do any of you can/freeze your own fruits/veggies? I would love to get started now that the summer is starting and lots of fresh produce is available, but I have never done it before, and it seems like a daunting task. What do you like to preserve, and do you have any tips?
waterski chick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 07:16 AM   #2  

S/C/G: 144/131/128

Height: 5' 4"

I was thinking of getting one of those food savers (vacuum pack for freezer)...so much easier than canning...I'll be watching for replies too!
TwynnB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 08:44 AM   #3  

S/C/G: 262/ See Ticker / 150

I can, freeze, dehydrate all sorts of produce that I have grown in our gardens. I would highly recommend that you purchase the "Ball Blue Book of Canning and Preserving". It is an excellent resource for those who are new to canning and freezing and gives you step by step instructions as well as suggestion/recommendations of equipment that you will need. There are excellent recipes in the book too - you can follow them, or alter them to suit your diet needs. There is a section in the book for diabetics as well and will give substitutions for splenda instead of sugar.