Well these make it easy because it says VEGAN on the front
Sometimes they will say vegan on the box.
If they are vegetarian, I'll look for milk, whey, eggs, lactose, etc. I've been used to reading labels for years for weight loss so it isn't much different. Most morningstar products have eggs in them for example, but I think they have one veggie burger that doesn't.