Old 08-09-2008, 05:56 PM   #1  

S/C/G: SW 275/see ticker/ GW 175

Height: 5'6

Default Exercises for lower back pain

Can anyone out there recommend exercises for lower back pain? Right now I have major back pain, but I want to exercise. What can I do without hurting it further? I am right now on back pain meds, as well as ice/heating and lots of water and rest.

These are the two things I need to do:
A) something to strengthen my back
B) other exercises without hurting my back further.

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Ginger
kissingginger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 06:15 PM   #2  
This is not a test.

S/C/G: 187/132/127.8

Height: 5'5''/165cm

im no expert, but i have an old hip injury that means the muscles in that side of my hip dont support it very well. Because of this i was advised by my physio to do cycling to strengthen my lower back muscles. Maybe that would help you too?
Iconised Ghost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 06:39 PM   #3  

Thanks! I wish I had access to a bike - I've got a treadmill and some weights and I can do some floor work? Does anyone know if I should be doing AB workouts with a sore back, or should I wait?

I also need to know what exercises I can do without hurting myself?
Anyone?
Thanks, Ginger
Old 08-09-2008, 06:47 PM   #4  
Just Yr Everyday Chick

S/C/G: Lost 50 lbs, regained some

Height: 5'3"

If your back hurts so much that you have to take pain meds and lie on an ice pack, then you shouldn't be trying any ab exercises yet. It can be dangerous to try to exercise under those conditions because one doesn't know what exercises might make things worse.

I'd say, see a chiropractor or an M.D.--they can give you a list of exercises that should be safe for you to do while your back gets better, and may actually help prevent the problem.

I hope you feel better soon!

Jay
JayEll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 07:21 PM   #5  
Hi From Canada, eh?

S/C/G: check the ticker :)

Height: 5'8