Old 08-02-2008, 02:46 PM   #1  

Default Newbie here!

Hi! My name is Linda and I just happened upon this site when I was looking for a recipe! It came up in the google search. Thinking I should take it as a sign, I decided to sign up.

Dieting is so, so hard for me! I am 60 years old and retired. By nature I'm a very sendintary person. When DH is out riding his bike, I am sitting here knitting. When he goes for a walk, I'm reading a book. I never have been and never will enjoy physical exercise or sports. So that's challenge #1, because I know I have to move to lose!

I have severe arthritis...back, hips, shoulders, knees, ankles, fingers...you name the joint it's there! So certain exercises are pretty painful.

And finally I have lymphodema in both my legs. It's not attractive at all and it's just another excuse for me to stay home.

I have over 100 pounds that I should lose, but honestly, I sometimes wonder if it's just not too late!

So here I am...hoping for some inspiration, and maybe a good old fashioned kick in the butt!
celtictrek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2008, 03:18 PM   #2  
2 wheels is plenty :D

S/C/G: 264/195/150

Height: 5'4"

LINDA!!!

First question - didja find the recicpe?

You do need to move to lose - I used to think I hated exercise, too. It sounds to me like you need to find something that isn't too painful to start with. Maybe something in a pool?

Ummm...at 60 it sure as heck is NOT TOO LATE... It's never too late to feel healthy and fit.

Have you shopped around for an eating plan that seems like it would fit your style?
chick_in_the_hat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2008, 03:50 PM   #3  
The Radiant One

S/C/G: 250/142/135

Height: 5'2"

Hi Linda - and welcome to 3FC!!