Old 07-18-2008, 11:28 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 262/262/180

Height: 5'11"

Question Why can't I lose the weight?

Hello to all -
I am new to 3FC and am trying to find a possible answer.
I, like many others, have been on the weight loss roller coaster, with the last "high" beginning almost 8 years ago & not coming down. This was about the time I was diagnosed with FM & have been struggling with severe fatigue since then. I have recently found, though, that regular exercise (not overdoing it) seems to lessen my pain & stiffness, but I'm still pretty tired all the time.

Since late May, I've worked out probably twice as many days as those I didn't (hmm - did that make sense?!) However, since returning home almost 3 weeks ago, I've done okay, but not great. What's really frustrating me is I've drastically (compared to a few months ago) increased my activity (doing cardio & weights) & am trying to pay more attention to what I'm eating & increasing my F & V intake & decreasing my high-fat (the good stuff) intake BUT the scale isn't changing. I've even tried a couple different "diet" pills as that has helped me in the past, with no luck. I'm starting to wonder if it's a metabolism thing. It's possible that I've entered the perimenopause phase, but my doctor doesn't seem to think so. I've heard that metabolism slows down after 40 & am wondering if this is a possible reason as to why the scale isn't changing. Any thoughts?
If it is, what have you done to overcome this obstacle?

HELP!!!
ellaqz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 03:12 PM   #2  
1 Day at a Time

Have you had your thyroid checked? That was my problem I have a slow thyroid and once I got on meds I was ok and could lose weight again. But before that no matter what I did I couldn't loose!
missi9245 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 04:33 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 220/190/140-160

Height: 5'5"