Old 06-08-2008, 09:18 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 329.6/328.8/200

Height: 5'7"

Thumbs down Doritos and Sour Cream ARE e v i l

Ok, so I'm a newbie and I've made this decision I'm going to be more careful about what I eat. Holy cow batman. Maybe I should just try keeping track of what I eat in the first place, maybe I'll stop eating this crap. I detailed this in my blog earlier but here it is in a nutshell...

In two sittings today I have snarfed down 1/2 a bad of Spicy Nacho Doritos and an entire 8 oz container of Sour Cream.

Doritos consumed - roughly 6 servings @ 140 calories *6 = 840
Sour Cream - 8 servings (@ 2 Tbsp.) @ 60 calories * 8 = 480

Thus my two little snacks totaled 1320 calories… OMG that’s nearly a one day calorie intake.

made me do it
emeraldjules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2008, 09:23 PM   #2  
aka Sarah

S/C/G: 289/193/159

Height: 5'7"

Portion control is definitely important if you want to lose weight.

But you can look into substitutions for the things you like to snack on, too. For example, plain nonfat yogurt substitutes pretty well for sour cream. I mix up half a cup of yogurt with a tablespoon of mayonnaise, some chopped garlic, and some cayenne or chili powder for a great dip for chips. That way, it's actually contributing to my health. And then for chips, I measure out a portion and put the bag away. Sometimes I will get baked chips instead of regular, too, so I'm not eating a lot of extra fat.

Anyways, point is, a healthy, sustainable diet includes healthy snacking.
WarMaiden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2008, 09:23 PM   #3  
Harl-E-quinn Groupie

Height: 5'6

they are hard to resist i know ! i love dorito's im on Weight Watchers i try to factor a bag into my points evrey day (you know the little 25 cents bags ) but its soo hard i used to scarf down an entire jumbo bag in one sitting .... over come the craving !! dont let it get the best of you !
CHUNKEY_MUNKEY is offline   Reply With Quote