Old 04-22-2008, 08:56 PM   #1  

Default Going to the gyno for the first time

Hey everyone. Just joined here and wow, what a great place! I'm looking fo-rward to becoming a part of this community!

So, question...I'm going to see the gyno for the first time for BC and a checkup and I'm kinda dreading it. I've been putting it off for the past 2 years, but now, at 22, I'm ready to just go get it over with and make sure I'm healthy. Not going is starting to stress me out more than going, lol Anyway, the reason I've been putting it off for so long is because of my weight (currently 320 and dropping...yay!). I've had more than a few negative experiences with doctors because of my weight and I'm worried that this will be the same. I'm just wondering what some of your experiences are (if you don't mind sharing). I hear Planned Parenthood is pretty "fat friendly." Just curious...need to calm my nerves!

Amy
dmcca212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 09:02 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 195/see ticker/140

Height: 5"7

Don't sweat it! I work at an OB/GYN office. Trust me, doctors have seen it all! I know in my little town we have patients from all different sides of the scale. Just take a deep breath and it will be all over before you know it! (just remember, no matter what size a girl is, she DREADS haveing a pap smear!)

And WELCOME! You will get addicted to this site and absolutely love the support here!

Last edited by aerogora; 04-22-2008 at 09:04 PM.
aerogora is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2008, 09:06 PM   #3  
just me

S/C/G: 320/294/145

Height: 5'7