Old 04-01-2008, 03:26 PM   #1  
Taking life by the horns

S/C/G: 302/ticker/215

Height: 6'1"

Default UGH! What the heck? My blood test results came in...

So I started seeing a new doctor and she made me get a blood test as a routine for new patients.

So, I've been eating MUCH better and have lost 30 pounds since Jan 1st, 2008. I eat a ton of fruits and veggies, very rarely eat ANY fried foods, wouldn't say I'm a carb addict at all... jsut a nice well rounded healthy diet!

SOOOOO... I get the phone call today. My triglycerides are at 257 when they should be lower than 150 (REALLY bad... I've always had high tri's... my dad had SUPER high tri's through his adult life)

And the shocker (b/c I was expecting the tri's due to genetics) my cholesterol was 225 and the nurse said it should be under 200.

Is this just simply because I'm still fat? I mean, I've DRASTICALLY changed my diet... I don't really know what else I would change b/c I really and truly am eating a LOT LOT LOT better. Hmph.

Could just being overweight simply affect cholesterol? I'm so bummed!!!!! What good is losing weight and eating healthy if it's not MAKING me healthy????

Side note: this wasn't a full-fasting lipid profile--- just a non-fasting routine test. I go for a full-fast blood test on Saturday.

I ate a big tuna sandwhich on rye bread (light miracle whip and lettuce) literally 1/2 hour before I went in b/c I didn't want to faint (also a genetic predisposition!)... could that have something to do with it? The fact that I ate something right beforehand?

UPDATE:
Talked to the nurse at the Dr's-- My old bloodwork from 2004 showed that my triglycerides were 503!!!! (I thought they were extremely high but wasn't sure)

So they told me that to go from 503 to 257 has shown that I'm doing SOMETHING right and that's why the Dr. isn't troubled by my results and wants to retest in a year b/c she knows I'm actively working on it. So, it's an IMPROVEMENT!!!