Old 03-25-2008, 11:32 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 201/201/110

Height: 5'1"

Question Does counting calories really work?

Hello! I am really trying to lose weight and have deicded to try something that I have never tried before- counting calories. Does it really work? Does it take a long time to see any results? I have tried low carb and they talk about how much weight you will lose in a few weeks and how fast you see results. It didnt work for me, and while I realize that calorie counting may take a while to see the results, does it work and how long does it take to start seeing it work? Was it hard to start doing? Are you always hungry? Id greatly appreciate any advice/thoughts/opinions anyone has to offer. Thanks!
chelle567 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2008, 11:40 PM   #2  
Skinny cow in the making!

S/C/G: 193/149/126

Height: 5'4

Well, so far it has worked for me!

I started losing weight straight away but it has been about 1lb per week which I consider to be slow but it is working! I didn't really "see" any difference until I compared pics from months ago but people started noticing after about 3 months.
It hasn't been hard to start doing either. I use fitday.com to count my calories so perhaps you would find a calorie counting web site useful.
I am never hungry and I never go without anything. I have learned through calorie counting that I must watch portions but if I want a little treat now and again I can have it.

You say you have tried low carb, did you try a specific plan?

I lost a lot of weight on Atkins very quickly but I gained it all back and then some because it didn't teach me about nutrition or portion control. It works for some, but it wasn't for me.
So, give calorie counting a go if you like. You've got nothing to lose!
Jadeybaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 12:03 AM   #3  
Jig, Don't Jog

S/C/G: 185.2/154.6/135

Height: 5'5"