Old 03-08-2008, 10:13 PM   #1  

Talking Steel Magnolias -- #7

Good Evening, Flowers! It's been a long day and with setting the clocks ahead I'm thinking it will be bedtime pretty soon. The Key Club is having a pancake breakfast tomorrow and I would like to go because one of our model, 3.+ GPA, special ed. students is an officer, and asked if I would go. I have to be at church by 9:30 so will have to get up early to eat pancakes at 8:30! I did some power shopping at Penneys, in Sioux Falls, and found some spring clothes as well as Easter basket clothes for the grandchildren. I need to come up with a book and/or small toy to put with the clothes and call it good. Kolby and Zowie have birthdays in April and May so should have bought them extra outfits. Oh well . . . . .

"Gma" -- I am delighted to share some snow with you! Thanks for posting the picture, but what is on top of the table? I studied the picture and just couldn't tell. Jason has taken on the finishing of their basement with the help of his father-in-law and Bob. Anything involving electricity and plumbing he has to have inspected before he can go on. The fireplace turned out to be a much bigger project than they anticipated in that the outside chimney had to have so many inches between the pipe, the insulation (?), and the siding framework, which the fireplace installer didn't bother to tell Jason. He and Bob redid that mistake! Just in doing the sheetrock and insulation he has saved almost $3000, but it has taken 6 months to get to where he is. His fil works with wood so will do the baseboards and door/window trim for them. Jason plans to do the sheetrock seaming and mudding, then have a professional do the texturing. I had a nice visit with Amanda, Zowie took a nap on my lap, and Ian showed me some of his preschool papers. He is a perfectionist like his mother, and doesn't like it if something doesn't look quite right to his satisfaction.