Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 02-02-2008, 07:35 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 193/192/140

Height: 5'3

Default I need to give up soda!

I drink Diet Montain Dew and need to give it up but i dont know how. when i go more than a day with out it i feel awful. anyone else out there have withdrawals from giving up soda? Is a diet soda everyonce in awhile ok? I usually only have one a day but lately i have been having more.
mommyagain3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 07:57 PM   #2  
Ija
Extra gluten

S/C/G: 286/135/135

I found that giving up pop/soda was the hardest thing for me... I've been drinking it every day for 20 years. I knew I had to give it up, though, after spending a month collecting all the caps from the pop bottles I drank. The pile was huge!

I tried going "cold turkey" and drinking only water, but that didn't work. I really needed some caffeine, and I missed having a drink with a little fizz and flavor. For the last month I've been drinking flavored Polar seltzer. The lemon, vanilla, and pomegranate flavors are fantastic, and I've found that if I get some caffeine elsewhere (coffee, tea) I don't miss drinking pop that much. Every once in a blue moon I'll have a diet Coke, but I've grown to like the seltzer so much that I don't crave pop of any kind anymore. I've had one 20-ounce bottle in the past five weeks.

Hope this helps!

Last edited by Ija; 02-02-2008 at 07:58 PM.
Ija is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 08:00 PM   #3  
2 wheels is plenty :D

S/C/G: 264/195/150

Height: 5'4"

Maybe wean yourself off? It's prolly the caffeine your body is missing the most. Maybe green tea which has caffeine but not near as much as Mt. Dew.
chick_in_the_hat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 08:01 PM   #4  
Just Yr Everyday Chick

S/C/G: Lost 50 lbs, regained some

Height: 5'3"