Old 05-18-2006, 07:18 PM   #1  
here I go again...

Default Go Donate Blood

I gave blood today (got my gallon pin ) and was thinking about what it takes for your body to regenerate that lost pint... so I googled it and according to the Mayo Clinic website, you burn 650 calories with each donation! So, at first I was unhappy that they told me not to workout tonight... but feeling much better now!!!

It's a win-win situation!!! Go donate!!

http://www.mayoclinic.org/donateblood/know.html
illinichick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2006, 08:51 PM   #2  
Amber

S/C/G: 180/165/130

Good for you for donating blood!! I wish I could but I have high blood pressure & take medication for it right now so I have to wait until i'm off meds. Being a medical professional, I applaud your donation! Thank you!
amb_lyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2006, 09:11 PM   #3  
Moderating Mama

S/C/G: 295/200/175

Height: 5' 8"

I wish I could too! I have some funky blood disorder and they won't take it...so upsetting! Especially because its not really a disorder, just one funky gene, and the blood is still functional! I need to check again - I think the reason I can't donate is that one of the questions they ask is "do you have a blood disorder" and I'm not sure if this qualifies. I really enjoy giving blood, actually, it makes me feel really good about myself.
mandalinn82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2006, 12:27 PM   #4  

Wow, what a great reason to give blood besides the obvious great reason. My town has a blood drive somewhere around here every month, I think I'll be there next time.. but until then, I will have to work up the courage to get over my fear of needles ... so, how much does giving blood hurt?
DaisyJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2006, 12:48 PM   #5  
Moderating Mama