Old 06-05-2011, 05:29 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 191/182/135

Height: 5'5"

Unhappy Working in a Restaurant

I feel like my job is becoming a huge distraction from my weight-loss. I work as a waitress in pizza/beer pitcher type joint in a college town. We get free food & beer whenever we want (even on days off), and because I'm paying my way through college, I'm often a little short on money for groceries and the like, so eating there is simply just the most convenient option. I've worked in restaurants since I was 16 (which, conveniently, is when my weight-gain started), and I have a really hard time avoiding the food.
It's especially hard at this particular job, because the servers make the food ourselves, so I have to walk to the kitchen and everything is lined up in front of me (pepperoni, bacon, sausage..mmm..). We serve salads too and I try to eat those when I can, but most of the time during my shift it's faster and easier to just eat a slice of pizza. The worst part is that I excuse myself from it. Usually I reason with myself, saying "Well, I've been working on my feet for 6 hours, so I deserve these two slices of pizza slathered in grease..."
Does anyone else work in a restaurant and have a similar problem? I can't quit my job, so any tips or suggestions would be much appreciated!
erikarae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 05:45 PM   #2  
Dependapotomaus, no more!

S/C/G: 259/168/145

Height: 5'4

I'm a pastry chef and it's insanely hard to keep myself in check. I don't have a problem with most of the things I make but when it comes to my favorites it's awful. I deal with it by drinking tons of water and trying to stay busy so I don't think about the food.
Lambiechop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 07:28 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 203/142/111

Height: 5'0

I have a side job at a rather high end restaurant doing dishes and I've found that when I'm at work I'm actually less likely to want to eat.