Old 09-20-2010, 01:49 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 150/131/125

Height: 5'6

Default Dumped...(not) eating my way through a break-up

Hi there,
I'm new-ish to this forum and thought, well...I need support. I'm a grad student in her mid 20's far from home, in a long distance relationship (almost 6 years!), planning to move in october, in the middle of final exams....and then my boyfriend dumps me...over the phone....days before I begin a week of final exams. Are you kidding me?!?!
I mean we were trying to work through stuff, but he had begun to lie...but that's another story.

Though things are resolving (I finally found a new apartment, I passed all the exams so far), but my oh my, I suddenly have this "do or die" appetite. I won't eat anything until I'm hungry - I feel nauseous, and then when I realize I'm hungry I eat everything in sight! I'm no longer sobbing (but I'm still sniffling every now and then) and I *think* I've moved on to the acceptance stage...I dunno.

Someone please tell me this is normal, that it will pass, because this sucks. share your experiences...because though I'm losing weight, I didn't want it to be like this!
tea leaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 01:57 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 306/255/160

Height: 5'6"

Yeah, it's totally normal, at least it was for me. I found out last week that someone I had feelings for moved far away. I was heartbroken, couldn't stop crying for 3 days, and completely lost my appetite. The only food I got in on those days was little amounts I had to force myself to eat. Even though my body was feeling hungry, my head had absolutely NO inclination to eat. It will pass, definitely. It's been a week for me and I am back on-plan (and even a little more aggressive about it now).