Old 04-12-2010, 04:53 PM   #1  
The Last 10lbs!

Default Non-Fruit Smoothies

I'm weird, and I don't really like fruit (there are a few exceptions - not many) but I'm really interested in having some kind of smoothie or something to start my day. I have searched the forums for coffee-flavoured ones but the best ones have ricotta cheese in them it seems, and that just doesn't seem right (though I'm sure it probably tastes fine... just seems weird!).

I've never made a proper smoothie before so I wouldn't really know what to start with. I am a poor student so buying expensive protein powder probably isn't likely.

Does anyone have a favourite smoothie recipe that doesn't rely on fruit for flavour? I don't eat much yogurt so I want to try to work some into my diet for more calcium and general yogurty-goodness. I'm happy with chocolate, vanilla, coffee flavoured, etc.

I live in the UK so getting some of the ingredients like LAWL or WW shake mixes isn't possible. I've never seen WW shake mixes here.

I know this is a lot to ask, but thought I'd see if anyone had any suggestions! Thanks in advance!
freedomreins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 05:05 PM   #2  
The Last 10lbs!

I found this one on the WW recipes forum, it was posted by Kelly_S:

1 cup skim milk
1 teaspoon dry instant coffee crystals
Sugar substitute to equal 1/4 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon brandy extract
1 cup sugar-free and fat-free vanilla ice cream
1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Do you think I could use yogurt in place of the ice cream, maybe even yogurt that I've frozen so it's nice and cold?

As a smoothie newbie I think this might work but I'm not sure.
Old 04-12-2010, 05:06 PM   #3  
LAWL ups and downs

S/C/G: 166/151.4/135

Height: 5'6"