Old 01-08-2010, 12:41 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 215/209/140

Height: 5'5"

Default In need of some life advice!

Hey ladies! I'm in need of some advice--I've talked to my family about it, but can't really talk to any of my friends here in town as they are my co-workers.

For a little bit of background on me, I graduated from college with a k-12 music education degree last December and spent spring semester job hunting and subbing in area schools.

I currently am the 6-12 music teacher in a small town in Iowa. I am in charge of 3 bands and 3 choirs plus 6-8 grade band lessons, all extra-curricular music activities, and the spring musical for this year. This really wasn't my ideal job, but as my first it seemed to be ok when I signed my contract.... and the $$ was right to help pay off loans. But I have been burnt out since October on this and have discovered how fickle some of my music kids are when they dropped at semester after acting like everything was fine and discovering how there isn't a lot of support for music at the school/community.

To add to this, my husband, whom has a music performance degree, has been having trouble finding a decent job that doesn't require him to drive 30-60 minutes (all highway, no rush hour traffic). At first we had agreed to stick this out for two years and they he would try auditioning for grad school at that time and if he got in I would try to find a new job. But I've recently starting receiving emails about band jobs that are opening for next year... more specifically... Middle School Band jobs. I love MS aged kids...weird right?? I've been told that I'll have a better chance at these jobs with a year under my belt, but I am torn as to what to do.

Any thoughts?? Advice would be greatly appreciated.... Sorry for the novel
kristilinn13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 12:50 PM   #2  
Let's do this!

S/C/G: 210/149/140

Height: 5'6.5

That's a tough one.