South Beach Diet Fat Chicks on the Beach!

Old 12-05-2007, 02:07 PM   #1  
I can do this!

Height: 5'11"

Talking Microwaving Veggies: The Best Way to Preserve Nutrients?

I've been microwaving my veggies for a couple years now. When I started SBD, I steamed them. But it took a long time for the water to heat, and then I noticed that when I poured the water off after cooking, it had usually taken on a strong hue in the same shade as the veggies. I looked into it and found that steaming leaches lots of nutrients into the water (and out of the veggies!). Here's a quick Q & A that talks about how nuking veggies might be the best way to cook them and preserve nutrients. Scroll down to the second question on the page (below the coffee question).

How do you make your veggies? Do you think it keeps more nutrients intact?
beachgal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 02:53 PM   #2  

Height: 5'4"

I steam them in that new microwave steam bag. It is great - no water and done in a few minutes - doesn't heat up the kitchen. I AM concerned about long term effects of plastic being used on food when cooked in the microwave. I'll continue to use them for now but it does make me nervous. I think nutrient wise it probably is one of the best ways - other than raw.
witchyonadiet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 03:31 PM   #3  
HAPPY HEALTHY ME

S/C/G: 215.4/-/165

Height: 5'2"

Laurie we almost always cook ours in the microwave unless dh is throwing something together on the stove
GONNABE165 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 04:09 PM   #4  
Come on Spring!

S/C/G: 232/170/150

Height: 5'0" on a tall day

My cooking water from steaming goes into the next batch of soup I'm making.
Ruthxxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 04:12 PM   #5  

S/C/G: 207/200/135

Height: 5'8

I like to just blanch mine. You drop the veggies into really hot water then instantly put them in ice water.

I like a little crunch to mine though...