Old 09-08-2007, 06:51 PM   #1  
I'm not nuts, I'm happy!

S/C/G: 241/220/160

Default Exercise

Okay, this is the most pathetic thing I have ever seen or hear, and it is coming from me.

I just did a whole 5 minutes on the treadmill and I am sweating, I have a stitch in my side and I was gasping for breath by the time I was done.

Now, I know I am not in shape, but I had no idea how out of shape I was. I can mow the lawn and not get this tired, what is up with this? I have never used a treadmill before, is this normal?

Plus, how long should I stay on the silly thing to start with? I was planning 15 minutes for a week then 20 then, well you get the point. Can I do 15 in sets of 5 minutes each, does that even do anything? Should I force the 15, should I slow the thing down? I am a pretty fast walker when it comes to being on the tread mill, in reality I just meander along at a snails pace.

Thanks All

Oh and it will take me 83 minutes at the pace I was going to step 10K
Kati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2007, 06:57 PM   #2  
Nicole

S/C/G: 261/226/140

Every little bit helps, Kati!

You will be very surprised how quickly you regain fitness if you keep at it - within a week or so you'll notice you can do more and more. Just keep at your 5 minutes at a time a couple of times a day, and gradually add in a bit more each time - you'll get there.

When I started going to the gym, I lasted 2 minutes on the cross trainer. I'm now up to 20 minutes at a time on it - even if I still think of it as the machine of death!

Keep it up!
nicolen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2007, 07:10 PM   #3  

Height: 5'5"

Okay. I'm going to give the best amateur answer I can. We have some personal trainers who visit this board that will hopefully see your question and give you some expert advice.