Old 06-29-2007, 12:11 PM   #1  

Default Give it a try

Well I just talked to my doctor today. She suggests I try a low carb diet. She has seen high success rates, and thinks I will lose on it.

That's all fine and dandy, but I have NEVER tried anything like this. I happen to be a big fan of bread and pasta. She suggests I start out at about 40-45g of carbs a day. SLOWLY work my way down, since this is a lifestyle change, and if I start too fast, I won't stick to it.

So here I am, scared to death. Where do I start???

I am not a huge fan of cooked veggies, so unless there is some trick to it...I will probably have to stick to mostly raw. I like the crunch I guess.....can't handle the hot mush.

I am a fan of salad.

Any suggestions you can give me would be wonderful! If you need any other info that'll help you help me, just let me know. I am an absolute newbie at this, I have NO IDEA what I'm doing, but I know this is the place to find it. Thanks!
WinterStarzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2007, 12:43 PM   #2  
Larry's Angel

Location: NW New Jersey But, My Heart's In Pittsburgh!! GO STEELERS & PENGUINS!!!

S/C/G: 245/143/145

Red face Welcome!!!

Toni!!

I've been doing Atkins for over 3 years now and while I am by no means an expert, I can tell you low carb does work.

Since you posted in the Atkins section, I am going to assume you are going to be trying Atkins. You might want to start by getting yourself a copy of the book, Dr. Atkins New Diet Revolution so you can fully understand & educate yourself about how & why this truly does work. In the meantime, I am posting these links for you, they should prove beneficial

http://www.atkins.com/articles/atkin...e-1-induction/
http://www.atkins.com/articles/atkin...eptable-foods/
http://www.atkins.com/articles/atkin...-of-induction/