Dieting with Obstacles Those with special health concerns such as diabetes, fibromyalgia, pregnancy, etc can post here for extra support and help.

Old 02-21-2007, 11:26 PM   #1  

Smile Prolactinoma and weight issues

Hello,

I have recently been diagnosed with a pituitary tumor called a prolactinoma. I have had about a 30lb weight gain due to my high prolactin levels. I am on drug therapy with bromocriptine. I would like to exchange information and ideas with other women who suffer from this problem.
asestina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 09:36 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 185/180/140

Height: 5'9"

I also have a prolactinoma. I was diagnosed about 5 years ago when i was a sophomore in college. I have been on and off with dostinex, and just started it again yesterday. During this time I have put on about 50lbs (yikes!). I was also very active, healthy, etc, and my good habits have slipped now that I am in grad school, but I do wonder how much is from the prolactinoma/medicine. I am hoping as I continue with the Dostinex ad my prolactin levels normalize I will lose weight (I also plan to get back into great habits)!
lynn21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 02:28 PM   #3  
drifting downward!

S/C/G: (HW 194) 175/168/140

Height: 5'5 1/2"

I don't have a prolactinoma, but I do have a large pituitary tumor (*supposedly* non-secreting, though testing has shown that relevant hormone levels are askew). It hemorrhaged sometime late last year, though doctors have tried to assure me that this can be positive. Of course, they also tried to assure me that it couldn't have caused a sudden worsening of symptoms (and 15lb weight gain in a couple months) in that same time frame, so I'm not sure how much I buy that.