Old 04-04-2007, 01:12 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 212/sig/125

Height: 5'1

Default Low-Carb Diet Advice

I have been doing a low carb diet for about 5 months now and I have lost about 42 pounds. However, tonight I noticed I am starting to get crazy dizzy spells. Has anyone else experienced this?

Also, what is a healthy/normal amount of weight to lose on a low-carb diet? Since I have gotten much more strict in the past month, I have been losing about 3 1/2 pounds a week.
Rikku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2007, 10:50 AM   #2  
Baby Steps

Is it possible the dizzy spells aren't from the way you're eating but from something else? Seems strange to not have any problems for 5 months and then start to get dizzy. You say you're doing "A" low carb diet...are you doing low carb or no carb? And the amount that a person loses varies with each person. The first time around, I lost about 2 pounds a week. Some lose more....some lose less. Hope that helps and congrats on the 42 pounds lost so far!!
lady_adnerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2007, 01:02 PM   #3  

Thanks! I say "a" low carb diet because I don't follow the Atkins book perfectly. I just eat about 30 grams of carbs a day and no sugar.
Old 04-04-2007, 07:44 PM   #4  

If it's a sudden onset of dizziness, it could be fluid in the middle ear causing the problem. I've dealt with that over the past 5 years where I wake up (usually after a day of bad allergies or a change in climate after travelling) with vertigo that is very positional (usually when I tilt my head back or to the right). I would encourage you to check with your doctor about this.

Best of luck,
Julie
LadyJulieAnn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2007, 01:40 AM   #5  

Thanks, it stopped after I got some sleep, so Im not so worried anymore. Except I weighed myself this morning and I GAINED 3.5 pounds in a day, and tonight its at 4. Any idea why this might have happened?
Old 04-05-2007, 08:04 AM   #6  

Perhaps your TOM and fluid retention?