Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 03-21-2007, 01:05 PM   #1  
...to everything

S/C/G: 170/170/120-130?

Height: 5'3"

Default Does your body NEED a break?

Hello!

I'm pretty new at the whole exercise/weight loss thing (about 2 1/2 months in), and I've been trying to gradually build up my exercise. I started at 30 minutes, 2-3 times a week, and I'm currently at 45-60 minutes, 5 times a week.

I planned to have no workouts today and Saturday, to give my body a "break". However, I don't feel well now... I usually work out in the mornings, and I'm finding that it gives me more energy and motivation and just general "feeling-goodness" throughout the day than if I don't work out. I miss it! I'm really starting to love my workouts, it's great "me time"... so I guess I'm basically wanting to know a couple of things:

1. Does your body need to rest? If so, how often?
2. How often, and for how long, do you exercise? Cardio, weight training, stretching, etc.? On average, how many hours a week?

TIA!!
RidiculouslyAddicted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 01:19 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 140/137/125

Height: 5'2.5"

I myself at least walk 30 mins a day even on my days "off". I do cardio at least 6 days /week and free weights every second.
canadian mom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 01:40 PM   #3  
Moderating Mama

S/C/G: 295/200/175

Height: 5' 8"

You really only need a break between strength training - but I find that I burn out quickly if I don't take one day off from cardio a week.

Just make sure you give yourself a day or two in between strength training workouts on the same muscle group and if you feel like you're burning out on cardio, take a rest.
mandalinn82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2007, 01:51 PM   #4  
...to everything