Weight and Resistance Training Boost weight loss, and look great!

Old 02-27-2007, 04:31 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 185/178/125

Height: 5 feet 4 inches

Default long term goals?

I'm actually really new to strength training *And* this forum, so if this question has been asked, forgive me

Anyway, I'm the type of person that needs to have long term, "ultimate" goals to reach for. I also want to be really strong and really fit.

So...what's a reasonable "ultimate" goal to reach for with say, a bench press? 100 pounds? less? more? I'm 5'4" and my goal weight is 125-135 or so.

Or should I can the idea of working up to lifting heavy weights?

Thanks in advance!!

Laura
photographydork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2007, 04:53 PM   #2  
Just Me

S/C/G: 364/--/182

Height: 5'6"

I love weights but I never had a weight lifting goal. My goals are really to lose weight and weight lifting is just an aid in that goal. I think there are simple things that I have as goals like I'd like to do a real pushup one day and I'd like to do a real pullup one day. I'd like to be able to climb a rock wall as well one day. I couldn't say my goals include bench pressing this weight or squatting that weight.
nelie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2007, 05:53 PM   #3  

Yeah, I'd like to be able to do a pullup someday. I can already to pushups, but I've never in my life been able to do a pullup. I don't even know how to train for one. I just hang there looking pathetic. I know there's a machine in the gym that can help with that, but without a gym membership I'm not sure what to do.
Old 02-27-2007, 09:11 PM   #4  
Mel