Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 01-30-2007, 10:36 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 178/159/148

Height: 5'6"

Default Need new swimming workout

Are there any swimmers out there?

I've been swimming 3 days a week for the past 2 months. The first month I started with 100 m breaststroke, 300 m freestyle, and 100 m breaststroke. I slowly increased the freestyle up to 600m. At this point I still needed to catch my breath every 100m or so and my swims were taking me about 30 min.

For Jan. I stuck with the 100 BS, 600 FS, 100 BS and have worked on taking less breaks. I can now usually complete all my laps in 20-22 min.

I need a new challenge for Feb. I'm not sure if I should add more laps, or do something different. I'm not very good at the backstroke and I've never really learned the butterfly. The max time I have is about 30 min for a workout. I own a kickboard and the gym has pool noodles and this things that look like dumbbells with paddle wheels on the ends.

Does anyone have any ideas for how to structure different swimming workouts? What I can seem to find online is either triathlon training or much longer distances or time then I can handle.

Thanks!!
Spideranne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2007, 10:42 PM   #2  

Height: 5'7"

I used a book called The Waterproof Coach by Thomas Denes when I was getting started again. Workouts start at about 800 yds (and work up as you progress), mostly freestyle but with some alternate strokes, kicking, etc. Each page of the book is divided into 3 sections (literally divided-cut) so you can pick and choose warm up, main set and cool down, and to top it off the book is waterproof for use near your pool.

Anne
AnneWonders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2007, 05:36 AM   #3  
aka Superwoman!

S/C/G: SW:226/16st - about 50lbs lost

Height: 5'8"