Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Closed Thread

Old 11-28-2006, 02:15 AM   #1  

Default Wacky idea- hypnotism?

Okay, okay- don't laugh- but I've been thinking- has anyone here tried hypnotism ?

It's just that sometimes I wonder whether thinking so much about food, what to eat, what not to eat, when to eat it. makes me fatter. Like my body is following where my mind is.

So then I started thinking- if the whole point of exercise and eating less calories is to convince your body to start burning your fat deposits- what if you can manage to convince your body of that anyways. Would hypnotism help?

Then again I may just be getting tired and loopy!
Old 11-28-2006, 07:48 AM   #2  

S/C/G: 295/225/back to Onederland

Height: 5'5"

I'm not an expert, but I think if hypnotism really worked, we would have heard by now! Lots of people make claims about it, but I'm highly skeptical of them.

Hypnotism may help in other ways, but I don't know if it's really useful for weightloss.
Old 11-28-2006, 08:53 AM   #3  
Isa from Chile

S/C/G: 181/181/132

Height: 5.4

I don`t know about hypnotism but maybe it can help to re program your eating habits. I will start a therapy of neurolinguistic programation to teach my brain to eat better and eat to live, not live to eat who happends to be my problem
Old 11-28-2006, 08:54 AM   #4  
No description available.

If the hypnotism helps to change attitudes about calorie intake and exercise, I think it can be helpful. If you are eating more calories than you burn, all the hypnotism in the world will not "convince" your body to lose weight.

I do believe in a mind/body connection that we probably do not totally understand, but it needs to be partnered with practical, physical strategies. You got some good advice in your other thread about that.
Old 11-28-2006, 09:00 AM   #5  
3 + years maintaining

S/C/G: 287/120's

Height: 5 foot nuthin'