General chatter Because life isn't just about dieting. Play games, jokes, or share what's new in your life!

Closed Thread

Old 11-24-2006, 12:05 PM   #1  

Thumbs up What to wear for a wedding?

This is my first time to an American wedding and I have no idea what to wear... I moved to US 1 year back and infact this is my first Christian wedding.

It is our friend's wedding which is taking place in the morning followed by lunch in the afternoon in a beachside restaurant. So I am guessing "light colors". I know white and black are usually not worn.

I have black pants and a satin lavender shirt. But I dont know if that goes.

Should it be a dress or a formal suit? I am planning to buy something. I do not want anything very short nor anything sleevless (winter).

My budget is not more than $150-200. Any suggestions, links, stores etc. for dressing ideas and accessories to go with it would be great! Please please help me!
Old 11-24-2006, 12:39 PM   #2  

Morning weddings with afternoon receptions usually means more casual than an afternoon/evening wedding. I would say black pants and a satin top would be fine. Perhaps dress it up with some heels and some jewelry and that should be fine.
Old 11-24-2006, 01:14 PM   #3  
Just Me

S/C/G: 364/--/182

Height: 5'6"

My general advice would be:

Never wear white
As above, morning and afternoon weddings tend to be more casual than evening weddings.
Outdoor weddings tend to be more casual than indoor weddings.
Spring and summer are good times to wear light colored clothes while fall and winter weddings tend to make the darker colored clothes more appropriate.
Warmer climate weddings also tend to be a bit more casual (Hawaii, Southern California and Florida, I don't know about other places)

I wouldn't wear all black to a wedding but black slacks/skirt is definitely appropriate for a wedding especially for evening weddings and/or fall/winter weddings.